Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors is the governing body of the county, establishing goals and objectives to direct the county’s growth and development, and carries out other responsibilities as set forth by Mississippi statutes.  Supervisors are elected from each of the five districts in the county to serve a four-year term.  The Board oversees county operations and enacts ordinances and resolutions to promote the health, safety, and welfare of citizens and businesses in the county, and approves the annual budget and millage rate which funds the operations of the offices and departments under the Board’s jurisdiction.

Board Meetings

The Board of Supervisors meets on the first and third Monday of each month in the Courthouse Annex, 230 Main Avenue, at 10:00 am. If Monday is a holiday, the meeting shifts to Tuesday.

The Board also schedules additional meetings as they deem necessary to handle pertinent County business and in the case of emergencies.  All meetings begin at 10:00 AM, unless otherwise announced, and are open to the public.

If you wish to appear before the Board of Supervisors to discuss an important matter pertaining to the county, you must notify the Board Office not later than noon on the Wednesday prior to the Monday meeting. Any backup information and/or exhibits pertaining to the matter you wish to discuss must be delivered to the Board Office by the same deadline. If you have been scheduled to appear before the Board, or if you have a matter to be discussed and you would like to have it dismissed from the agenda, please contact the Board Office prior to the beginning of the meeting.

District Map

BOS district map

Contact Information

Board Correspondence and Minutes
Chancery Clerk
Sherline Watkins
P O Box 188
DeKalb MS 39328
Office: 601-743-2460
Fax: 601-743-2789


District 1
Roy Vandevender

District 2
Johnny B. Whitsett

District 3
Scott Johnson

District 4
Lee McDonald

District 5
Chris Cole